Under the California Workers’ Compensation law, there are five benefits:
Compensation you receive if you lose wages as a result of an injury that prevents you from performing normal job functions while you are recovering form your injuries. These benefits are generally two-thirds of the injured worker’s average weekly wages, which is subject to minimums and maximums set by the California State Legislature as follows:
For injuries after January 2016, the minimum rate goes up to $169.26 per week and the maximum goes up to $1,128.43 per week. For injuries after January 1, 2015, the minimum is $165.49 a week with a maximum set at $1,103.29 per week. For injuries after January 1, 2014, the minimum is $161.19 per week, and the maximum is set at $1,074.64 per week. For injuries after January 1, 2013 the maximum temporary disability rate is $1,066.72 a week and the minimum $160 a week. For injuries after January 2012 it is $1,010.50 a week maximum and $151.57 minimum, and for injuries after January 1, 2011, the maximum temporary disability rate is $986.69 a week (the same rate as in 2010) and the minimum $148 a week. Temporary disability cannot go beyond 104 weeks during a five year period from the date of the work-related injury. Work injuries between 2004-2007, benefits cannot go beyond 104 weeks from the date of first payment of temporary disability.
If a medical doctor states that you are unable to work due to your work-related injury, then you will be eligible for temporary disability. Your benefits will continue until you are released by a doctor to return to work or until your condition is established by the doctor to be permanent and stationary or to have reached the maximum medical improvement.
Once you have been declared permanent and stationary, you will be evaluated by a medical doctor in order to determine if you have any permanent disability as a result of your work injury. Permanent disability is determined on a scale from 0% to 100%. 100% means that the injured worker is determined to no longer be able to work in any capacity due to their injury. Any determination below 100% is considered permanent partial disability, under California Workers’ Compensation Law. The amount of money given to permanent partial disability is determined by the percentage. The lower the percentage, the lower the payment, the higher the percentage, the higher the payment. This percentage is not based on how serious or extensive the work injury was a the time of the injury, rather, it is determined once the maximum medical improvement has been reached, as stated by a medical doctor. The level of permanent disability is typically contested by the insurance company, and must be resolved by a Qualified Medical Examiner. Such disputes regarding the extent and nature of permanent disability can be negotiated through a settlement, however, if negotiation is not possible, it will be determined by a workers’ compensation judge after a trial.
Under California Workers’ Compensation Law, injured workers receive all necessary and reasonable medical care to relieve or cure the effects of a work related injury. To treat a work related injury, the insurance company or employer may have an established medical provider network (MPN). If they do, then you must receive treatment for your work injury through the list of doctors. Any dispute of the MPN doctor’s treatment of you requires that you seek out a second opinion from within the MPN. If an MPN does not exist, then you can choose your own physician to treat you after 30 days from the date the work injury took place. Note that you are only allowed one treating physician at a time who manages your case. The treating physician can refer you to other medical specialists within the MPN, in order to help you get the needed treatment.
Vocational rehabilitation is the process of retraining for new work skills as part of recovery from a work related illness or injury. If a worker is able to perform the normal essential functions of the job, they may be entitled to a “reasonable accommodation” from the employer, which would allow the injured worker to return to their regular job with certain modifications or accommodations as long as such accommodations do not create a hardship for the employer.
Injured workers who are unable to return to their regular job (for injuries after January 1, 2005 but before January 1, 2013) will receive a non-transferable voucher of between $4,000 and $10,000 payable to the state accredited school chosen by the injured worker. Injuries after January 1, 2013, the voucher is a flat rate of $6,000 and must be used within 2-5 years, and cannot be settled by the injured worker for a cash payment.
As of 4/13/15 an additional $5,000 per eligible injured worker is available. Click the following link for more information Return-to-Work Supplement Program (RTWSP)
Dependents can claim death benefits under California Workers’ Compensation Law if the injured worker dies as the result of a work related injury. Death benefit amounts are determined by the degree of dependency and the number of dependents, and if there are minor children. Under California Workers’ Compensation Law, the standard for death benefits is determined by whether or not the injury has caused or hastened the injured worker’s death. Medical evidence must be provided in order to prove the dependent’s claim.
Authored by Scot D. Shoemaker